Follow

Leave a Copy of Email on Mail Server

Email account types differ in how emails are saved and synchronized with the Mail Server. For example, by default POP3 email accounts delete emails from the Mail Server when downloaded into Mail Client. However, you can customize how emails are retrieved and saved.

Other email accounts, such as an Exchange Server email account, save all emails on the Mail Server by default. You can configure an Exchange Server email account to keep a copy of emails on your computer that allows you to read emails when not connected to the Exchange Server.

Below are the information regarding how different email account types handle their emails,

POP3 email accounts

When you retrieve emails from a POP3 email account, the emails are deleted from the Mail Server by default after they are downloaded to your computer. However, if you want to check your emails from multiple computers, you must configure Mail Client to not delete the emails on your Mail Server. This scenario is most common for people who want to check their home Internet service provider (ISP) email account from work and download the emails for permanent storage on their home computer.

When you leave emails on your Mail Server, you can choose from several options to delete your emails. To make your choice, you need to consider several factors about your email usage, such as how long you want the emails to be accessible from multiple computers and the storage limits imposed by your email server administrator. If you exceed your storage limit, you might be unable to receive new emails or might be charged additional fees.

In Outlook, it allows you to select a time duration for leaving email on the Mail Server.

1. On the 'Tools' menu, click 'E-mail Accounts'.
2. Click 'View or change existing e-mail accounts', and then click 'Next'.
3. Select your email account, and then click 'Change'.
4. Click 'More Settings'.
5. Click the 'Advanced' tab, and under 'Delivery', select the 'Leave a copy of messages on the server' check box.
6. Under 'Internet E-mail Settings' dialog box, select one of the following options:

a) Remove from server after x days
Emails are downloaded to your computer but remain on the Mail Server for the number of days that you specify. This is the most common setting for people who want to read their emails at work but also download them for permanent storage on their home computer. We recommend that you choose the smallest number of days that suits your needs. The longer you leave emails on your Mail Server, the greater the risk of exceeding your mailbox size quota.

b) Remove from server when deleted from 'Deleted Items'
Emails are downloaded to your computer but also remain on the Mail Server indefinitely until you delete the emails in Outlook and empty the 'Deleted Items' folder. Just deleting the email doesn't remove the email from the Mail Server.

*** If you do not select either check box, emails are left on the server indefinitely. You can eventually exceed your mailbox quota, unless you connect to the Mail Server from another computer that has Outlook configured to remove emails from the Mail Server.

7. Click OK, and then click Finish.

IMAP email accounts

When you access an IMAP email account, your emails are copied locally. However, the emails also remain on the Mail Server until you mark them for deletion and use the Purge Deleted Items command.

HTTP email accounts

When you access an HTTP email account, such as MSN Hotmail, your emails are saved on the Mail Server until you delete them.

Exchange Server email accounts

When you access an Exchange Server email account, your emails are saved on the Mail Server until you delete them.

Please refer below for the steps on how to leave a message on server:

Microsoft Windows Mail (Windows Vista™)

  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Accounts.
  3. In the Email subsection, select the email account.
  4. Click Properties.
  5. Click the Advanced tab.
  6. Click the Leave a copy of the message on the server check box.

 

Microsoft Outlook® XP, 2002 and 2003

1. Click Tools.

2. Click Email Accounts.

3. Click View or change an existing email address or select the Email tab.

4. Select the email account.

5. Click Change.

6. Click More Settings.

7. Click the Advanced tab.

8. Ensure the Leave a copy of the message on the server check box is checked.

9. Click OK.

Note: Clearing this check box will result in deleted email messages being permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

Microsoft Outlook® 2007

1. Click Tools.

2. Click Account Settings.

3. Click Change.

4. Click More Settings.

5. Click the Advanced tab.

6. Ensure the Leave a copy of the message on the server check box is checked.

7. Click OK.

8. Click Next.

9. Click Finish.

Note: Clearing this check box will result in deleted email messages being permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

Microsoft Outlook® 2010 and 2013

1. Click File.

2. Click Account Settings.

3. Click Change.

4. Click More Settings.

5. Click the Advanced tab.

6. Ensure the Leave a copy of the message on the server check box is checked.

7. Click OK.

8. Click Next.

9. Click Finish.

10. Click Close.

Note: Clearing this check box will result in deleted email messages being permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

Microsoft Outlook Express and Microsoft Outlook 2000

1. Click Tools.

2. Click Accounts.

 

3. Click the Mail tab.

4. Select the email account.

5. Click Properties.

6. Click the Advanced tab.

7. Click the Leave a copy of the message on the server check box.

Note: Clearing this check box will result in deleted email messages being permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

Eudora® 7.0 or later

  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Personalities.
  3. Right-click the email account name, and then click Properties.
  4. Click the Incoming Mail tab.
  5. Click the Leave mail on Server check box.

    Note: Clearing this check box will result in deleted email messages being permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

Mozilla® Thunderbird®

1. Click Tools.

2. Click Account Settings.

3. Select Server Settings under the account name.

4. Click the Leave messages on server check box.

Note: Clearing this check box will result in deleted email messages being permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

Window Live Mail®

1. Click the Account tab from main menu then click Properties.

 

2Click Advanced tab.

3. Ensure the Leave messages on server check box is checked.

4. Click OK.

Note: Clearing this check box will result in deleted email messages being permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

IncrediMail®

  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Accounts.
  3. Select the email account and click Properties.
  4. Click the Advanced tab.
  5. Click the Leave a copy of messages on server check box.

    Note: Clearing this check box will result in deleted email messages being permanently removed from the messaging server.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.